FF7, dungeon crawling and racing

Here’s another warm-up exercise. The design is coming. I’m making it larger than I originally planned. This is a good thing. I plan to have it up in the next few days.

Inspired by: _speed_

Racing games are cool because they are mesmerizing. I love being drawn in and put into a trance. There is such a constant need to put yourself into the perfect position. You are circling a middle line of perfection as it moves forward – you with it.

Racing is about finding that line and always getting closer to it. Not to mention that that line is constantly splitting and shifting. You never quite know where it is. Stay with it for a while and you’ll learn its patterns, get a clear vision of where it is and how it moves.


I want a game that lets me do anything I want. I want to type on a keyboard, click lazily with a mouse watching my men do things for me. I want to switch between hardcore action and relaxed reading and thinking at any time. I want to suit the player’s mental environment.


Inspired by: Dungeon Dashers

Managing a party of dudes is awesome. I’m watching this “let’s play” video of a playthrough of the opening sections of a game called “Dungeon Dashers,” from the TIG devlogs.

Stabbing skeletons is archaic and still fresh. I like the sound of bones crushing, blood spurting. I like seeing gore. I like completing the mission and hearing that ding. I like being successful.

The battles are interesting. The most interesting part is managing your party, getting used to each of their abilities, having to think about how they interact, what their strengths and weaknesses are, how they can be used (in battle and out of it).

I want to be able to call my minions to me. I also like how the story blends with the mechanics. Each scenario has a little story that goes with it that helps provide context for the battle.

I like PC games for their detail.


The issue I have is with how everything in this world works. Why am I living with my father? I am here to help him, to help myself. For whatever reason I left Waterloo not to start my company but to live inside the pain of my problems. I didn’t want to be able to escape from them, and I have been living in shame of my inability to express that since.

I cannot leave because my mission is to figure this problem out. This game is supposed to bring us together. It is supposed to solve all of our problems. I can’t cheat my way out of it.


I want this game to be like FF7. I want to make players feel the way I felt when I played that game. FF7 made me feel like a hero. It blew my mind. It was so deep and rich and demanding. It had an opening sequence that just rocked me. I was intoxicated by it. A full FMV that starts off slow, introduces a character – Aeris – pans through the city, follows an awesome moving train, then “fades” into gameplay.

Then Cloud jumps off the train and it’s time for battle. We’re already in a rush. The characters are already calling us forward. We are already part of a movement. God I was entranced. FF7 expected that you keep up, that you were ready for such an adventure, that you could handle and appreciate that. That’s what I liked most about it. It was mature.

The moment when I attract a girl goes like this. She’s talking some bullshit and I’m just ignoring that shit, thinking about how she really feels. At some point I just treat her like she is, for what she really is. She feeds me crap and I just ignore it, look at her like she’s beautiful and interesting for her most natural qualities, like the crap is just fuzzy reception, and she drops the shit. She just stops because she knows that I know that she’s better than that. Then we engage. That’s the moment where attraction starts. She suddenly sees me as an individual and we can relate for real.

FF7 is like me and I’m like the girl, 11 years old and girlish. It doesn’t ask me what I want, or wait for me to catch up. It just assumes that I am the way that I am, that I can match whatever it expects, then it just runs with it.

It is amazing how quickly you can grow in that type of situation. When you’re around someone who knows that you’re better than you’re currently behaving, who believes in that, then you grow into that person almost instantly. The experience is so gratifying and calming. “I _am_ this way.” I want people to feel that way when they play my game, like they are the best version of themselves, and that the game didn’t give it to them but they gave it to themselves. The game just reminded them how to do it.

“I’ve always been this way. I know now. I just forgot.” That’s how games can make you feel. Oh yeah, just like another person. Books are about the world. Games are about you.

 

Leave a comment